Dwight David Eisenhower Humanitarian Award
The Rotary Club of Gettysburg annually presents its Dwight D. Eisenhower Humanitarian Award on the anniversary of the birth of our 34th President. 
This award has been presented in Gettysburg since 2003.
Those who have received the award are: 
2022 - Carl L. "Pete" Ricker
2021- Judith Butterfield
2019 - John Kramb
2018 - Dr. Kirby Kiefter
2017 - Kenneth M. Farabaugh, Jr.
2015 - Dr. E. William Waring, Jr.
2014-  John “Jack” Phillips
2013 -  John Phillips
2011 - Jennifer Weaver
2010 - Connie Farabaugh
2008 - Richard Waybright
2005 - Ernest Simpson
2004 - Rev. Karl J. Mattson
2003 - Dr. Bradley Hoch
The Award was first presented in 1967 by the Palm Desert, California Chamber of Commerce, and the first honorees were President Eisenhower and Bob Hope.  The award was conceived by Dr. Alloy Heyan a Lt. Commander in the U.S. Navy, a dentist, and a veteran of World War II, Korea, and Vietnam.
Following Eisenhower’s death in 1969, the Palm Desert Rotary Club took up the award.  The award ended when Dr. Heyan moved on to help form the Rancho Mirage Rotary Club.  After retiring and moving to Lancaster, PA, Dr. Heyan brought his idea to the Gettysburg Rotary Club in 2002.  
The Award is in recognition of an individual’s outstanding humanitarian service and positive influence in one or more of the following areas: public/civic service, peace, and world understanding that have contributed to the betterment of humanity locally or globally.  The nominee must be an individual rather than a group or organization and must be alive at the time of nomination.  Preferably, the nominee will be from Adams County though not necessarily living in Adams County currently.  If the nominee is not from Adams County or currently living in Adams County their achievement must have had a major effect on Adams County.  The nominee’s achievement can be local or global.  It can represent a life’s work or a one-time occurrence.
Nomination period opens in late summer.